Martial arts and me

Posted: May 5, 2010 in Life changes, Martial arts
Tags: , , , ,

I started doing martial arts about one year ago, Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu to be precise. I had never ever tried any martial arts previously so this was definitely a first for me.

To give you a bit of a background; I was always curious about martial arts but to chicken to try it out and I always felt that some martial arts that I looked at were too rigid or felt like they demanded someone who already was super fit and flexible, neither which was applicable to me. I have spent my life going from being slightly fit to being very unfit and back and forth. I enjoy going to the gym but I have never managed to keep it up regularly.

Last year I saw this flier about a beginners class starting close to where I live. It mentioned getting fit and self-defense and so forth. I got curious and I decided to have a look. After the initial meeting with the instructor and having had a look at a class I decided that I would sign up for the beginners course… I haven’t looked back. I absolutely love it and the guys in the club are a brilliant bunch. The people who train at the club are from different backgrounds but this art connects us and we always have a laugh.

Why do I love it? I feel more confident when I am out as I now have an idea on how to defend myself if need be, I am slowly (but surely) getting fitter and stronger, the guys are a laugh… but there is more, something intangible that I cannot put my finger on yet, it’s a feeling of pure joy after each training session. No matter how physical and exhausting the training session is, I leave feeling happy. No matter what mood I was in before I got there, I always leave with a smile on my face. This is more than just a regular gym session to keep fit. I feel at ease, at home and know that I will continue with this art for as long as I can. Maybe one day I will be able to tell you why I truly love it – until then, I’ll keep you posted.

Comments
  1. Daisy says:

    I could need a bodygard :-))

    That feeling of happiness…it’s a feeling of beeing alive!!

Leave a Reply

