A moment in the present

Posted: September 12, 2010 in Driving, Life
Tags: , , , , , ,
Alternative version of image:Wooden hourglass ...

Image via Wikipedia

How many times do you find yourself being in the present? Really just existing in that present moment without remembering the past or thinking about the future? I believe that it is very rare. Most of us are either preoccupied with what has happened or with what will happen. Our lives are busy and many things are going on at the same time causing our chain of thoughts to evolve based on what we have learned in the past and what we want to do in the future. There is always something to do.

Some are more focused on what has happened, how things went the way they did, what caused it and so forth. Others focus primarily on the future, how will I get there, what will I do once I am there and so on. I’d hazard to guess that most of us are somewhat in between. Me… I love both the past, as I am a big fan of history, and the future as I am always impatient to see what will happen.

But too rarely do I find myself in the actual present and it is a shame as I believe there is much to learn in those moments, about ourselves and the world around us. It is also a truly wonderful way to relax and just feel alive. Those odd times when I catch myself in the present moment are great. Today I was driving in my car and singing along loudly to the radio (yes, I was alone) and I had a moment of clarity when I realized that I wasn’t thinking about anything that had happened or what I was going to do when I reached my destination. Instead I was just cherishing that particular moment singing to my heart’s content, feeling the sun through the windshield, the noise from the open window and a having a big smile on my face.

Does that ever happen to you?

Comments
  1. maria says:

    Ok, here comes my first comment. 😀
    Being present if extremely important, but oh so difficult! You think it would be easy, but no.. Ask yourself when at work performing some boring everyday task, or when shopping vegetables at the supermarket or just relaxing at home – How present am I now? And give yourself an honest answer…
    For me, the biggest eye-opener is actually my dog.. She is truly being present! We took her from her safe life in Ireland where she was running on the beach and was truly happy, and moved her to a city life with concrete and lots of cars.. My first thought, oh how she must miss the Irish beaches and her dog friends.. But no, she is in the moment, right now is all that matters for her! No worries about tomorrow and no agony about the past. I just watch and learn….

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      I definitely agree with you there. Animals really know how to live life in the present. It’s a behaviour that we humans so seldom seem to do. Yet watching any animal can teach you the joy of it. Thanks for commenting!!! 🙂 Always great to hear your point of view!

  2. That is soo true..Darn we just can’t enjoy the present!

    I’m sharing my blog..do leave your comments
    http://nothingexistswithtime.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

