Cold 1 – Me 0

Posted: October 23, 2010 in Rant
Tags: , , , , ,
Save me from this evil cold

Image by YayAdrian via Flickr

This coughing and general feeling of being wrecked is doing my head in. Not the mention it is really pissing me off. I am finally, after a long five weeks allowed to train down at the dojo again…and what happens… I get a really nasty cold that settles comfortably in my chest and decides to wreak havoc… just for the laugh, I am sure.

If colds had personalities this one would be a particular unsavoury character, lets call him “The Cold”. With a beige nylon trench-coat, pointy nose, squinty eyes and slick greasy hair. One that is all nice in the beginning and lets you get off easy, lulling you into thinking that “This is not so bad, I’ll be grand in a day or two. Just the sniffles”.  Then just when you thought that you will be fine then evil little bugger gives out a malevolent laugh and bitch slaps you adding a swollen throat and a horrid chesty cough. I feel like someone placed a dumbbell on my chest.

So the first point goes to “The Cold”. I am not going to let things stand as they are though. Time for the big guns… every home remedy I know and all the “normal” pharmacy bought cold medicines will now be utilized. I will not spend another week feeling awful.

Right, I am off to the pharmacy now. All tips of how to get rid of this are greatly appreciated!

Comments
  1. Want Tips..I am sure you would have tried most of them. One teaspoon of honey in lukewarm water with a pinch of mashed ginger works well for me. But give it some time, it’ll soon pass. Take care.

  2. Ivy Blaise says:

    Yep…. getting better with no social life due to funny smells….LOL….no, it’s luckily enough not that bad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

