Maintaining a balance between change and stability

Posted: October 30, 2010 in Life, Life changes, Reflections, Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
Life Changing

Image by orionlee via Flickr

It is Saturday morning and I am about to have some breakfast. Am sitting here waiting for my partner to finally exit the shower…why is it that men seem to take a lot longer in the bathroom than women? Sigh.

In the meantime I am trying to sort through the million thoughts that are falling through my mind. I always have much going on in my head but not always the time to actually mull on them and mentally sift thoughts through my fingers.

In the last two years much has happened that has triggered a whole new lot of conscious thoughts. Or maybe they always have been there but I’ve never let them surface. Some days I wake up and feel exactly like the same person as I was 10 years ago. Other days I wake up and feel like a totally different person from whom I was just a few years ago. There are times when I embrace changes in my life with open arms and look upon the path ahead with a big smile.When I cannot wait to go out to discover what new exciting experiences these changes entail.

Then there are moments when life seems to come to a standstill as I try to understand and come to terms with a new realization about myself. Certain realizations do scare the hell out of me and the temptation to just push them away is very strong. Maybe one day I will have the courage to dissect them in this blog and even fully embrace them as a part of whom I am but for the time being they will stay on the sideline, being apprehensively evaluated. Maintaining a balance in life can be challenging at times. When you feel that you do not know whether you are coming or going or just want to run away as fast as you can.

As humans we always evolve, in the longer perspective hopefully as a species and on a shorter term as individuals. I am just hoping that I will find a balance so that I can merge the old, comfortable parts that are the essence of me with the newly found/discovered traits that will hopefully complement me. Note that I say complement and not complete me, as I have a funny feeling that we will always evolve and the day when we hopefully feel complete is the day we pass away… only to enter a whole new realm of possibilities, or whatever you chose to believe in.

Well, now it is time for breakfast. Then on to some minor changes on the schedule… time to visit the hairdresser and then doing some research on tattoo artists for that tattoo I have thought about for some time.

Have a good weekend!

Comments
  1. An extremely philosophical mood. Good luck with the tattoo artists !!

  2. Ivy Blaise says:

    Thanks! 🙂 I have narrowed it down to a few now. It is actually fun to figure out my own design. And yes… I end up in these philosophical moods now and then. Good for the soul they say. 🙂

Leave a Reply

