Not enough hours in the day

Posted: November 1, 2010 in Life, Reflections, Work
Tags: , , , , , ,
Mount Zen II

Image by adesigna via Flickr

Another long day getting towards its end. It is almost 21.00 again. I can’t believe how fast the days are going at the moment. I do not seem to have time to think half the time…ehh well, not completely true as I am blogging ..but you know what I mean.

Work is taking up a very large chunk of my time these days and those who know me also know that this is not something that I am known for. I am no workaholic, never have been. I have never had a need to prove something by putting down a ridiculous amount of hours in the office. However at the moment the work load is a bit off the charts. There is a never-ending steam of emails, IM’s and requests. I spend a lot of time in front of my PC cursing and giving out to people who have just emailed me..especially when it entails really stupid questions. Don’t get me wrong…I am very good at asking stupid questions, which my dear and extremely helpful colleagues, probably hate with a passion but they are all too nice to say so to me. I am however not as nice…at least not in front of my screen. I am also extremely glad we do not have a swear box in the office as I would be very poor indeed. The best discovery so far…the “Do not disturb” setting on our IM. Ahhh bliss!

Either way, being very busy in work means longer hours spent in the office and less time at home. This means less time talking to friends or even just spending it watching a film together with my partner. All the sudden it is really late and I just have to go to bed, cos trust me… I need my sleep. I am the most cranky person ever with too little sleep. It’s things like that and all those other small acts like meeting up with people, sorting out all those small but fun to do whatnot’s at home, playing a silly Xbox game or browsing the internet for a nice holiday… those are the things I have very little time to do at the moment. I need more hours in the day or at least find a way to better balance my work load I think. Never really had this problem before as I am pretty organized so it does bug me. Any tips out there?

Comments
  1. I think I know how you feel… I’m being pulled so many ways, the world is beginning to feel like a bored kid, and i’m the stretched bubblegum in his fingers. yaay.

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      And it is not even Hubba Bubba bubblegum…the extra stretchy one…. sigh. Let’s hope the world either grow past the boredom or that we develop some magnificent stretchy qualities…

  2. I always have this problem. The minute I think I ll get free from work, I get more files to finish, papers to read etc. So now the only way to get off, is to not think of getting free. Then I get off sooner..think I am jinxed. Don’t worry, this shall soon pass..

  3. Ivy Blaise says:

    Yes the never ending steam of things to do… had a chat with my manager today and I think I will just have to learn to walk away and not strive to finish all in one go. Learn to call it a day and then forget about all and just start again the next day. Easier said than done sometimes though.

  4. Dennis Hong says:

    Dude, I feel ya. If I could have one wish, I’ve always wanted to have that nifty little watch from the Twilight Zone that stops time. That would be soooo nice to have. 😉

    I’m doing a little experiment right now. I’ve always needed 8 hours of sleep, but I’m actually trying to train myself to get by on 6.5. The first few weeks sucked, and I ended up having to get “caught up” every few nights. But I’m now on my second full week, and I think my body is actually starting to get used to it.

    For what it’s worth….

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      I tried that experiment for a good few years… when I had to get up at 05.30 every morning and it was just not possible to actually get to sleep before 23.00…. unfortunately even with years of “training” my body just more or less gave me the finger so I never got used to it. I have deducted that it is just not meant to be that way, for me. 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

