Obsession?

Posted: November 8, 2010 in Blogging, Reflections
Tags: , , , , ,
Blogging Readiness

Image by cambodia4kidsorg via Flickr

Is it possible to become obsessed with blogging? There is no end to it. I am constantly either checking my blog stats, reading other blogs or thinking about new stuff to blab about. New comments make my day each time. I can’t seem to stop thinking about different things to write about, even though plenty gets discarded because they turn out more horrid than usual. Other times I actually have to tell myself that I just can’t post several times a day either…there has to some sort of limit in the end of the day.

If one was to analyze this phenomenon then there are most likely a good few not so flattering conclusions to be drawn from this. Such as narcissistic self-inflation or some kind of ego boost need or god knows what. It has been a while since I studied such subjects hence I cannot even remember what the “afflictions” are called again. Maybe that is for the best. Let’s just hope that no shrink will ever analyze this blog cos I might be in trouble then. >)

In the meantime I will just continue throwing out my strange ideas and thoughts into hyper-space. I am enjoying this and that is the main thing really, I guess.

Comments
  1. Hi, Ivy ~
    I found my way to your blog from a comment you left on mine today.

    Oh my gosh – I feel the exact same way about blogging! Some days I really have to force myself to step away from the computer, because it *can* become an obsession. However, I tell myself (and my husband) that it’s better than recreational shopping, right?!

    I’m kind of new to blogging, so maybe the fascination with it will fade over time, but for now, I enjoy trying to think of new topics to write about (even though, like you said, many make it no further than my trash bin!), and I enjoy the writing process. There are worse hobbies, right?!

    Good luck to you with your blogging!
    ~Christy

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      Hi Christy.

      I know… its is much easier on the wallet. So I guess we can call it a inexpensive obsession at least. 🙂

      I don’t know about the fascination lessening…haven’t reached that point yet…it has gotten worse… so who knows where this will end up.

      I am enjoying your blog by the way! Had me in stitches a few times. 🙂

  2. I’m obsessed, too. I sometimes wish my site stats would skyrocket without any effort on my part, though. Because I’m usually too lazy to post more than once a week – if that!

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      But it is always worth the wait though! The fun bit is to try to figure out what to write… even though sometimes I start writing something and halfway through I realize what a load of sh*te it is and I have to start over again.

Leave a Reply

