About this and that

Posted: November 12, 2010 in Blogging, Family, Food, Life
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Illustration depicting thought.

Image via Wikipedia

I was having a prolonged breakfast in work today with one of my colleagues (a truly fab person!) today and for some reason we briefly talked about blog post topics, probably cos she is one of the few that read my blog… thank you, thank you!! Anyhow, she suggested that I blog about the people I see everyday, i.e. my colleagues, in a very anonymous fashion obviously. I am still thinking about as I am not sure if my observations will be appreciated or not. Not that I have anything bad to say about anyone really but there is always some who would feel a bit slighted. I am pretty good at putting my foot in it and with my luck I would manage to do it to someone who for some obscure reason would read my post out of the blue. I have to mull the idea over a bit more.

Then when I got home I was reading some blogs that I follow, namely “Alone… with cats” and “Cat fur to make kitten britches” and they both had posts about family members. Great posts at that, highly recommended funny reads! It got me thinking about post topics and the fact that I have a quite eccentric family. There is probably a multitude of posts that could be written about my family and experiences from growing up in a loud, passionate German family in a small religious town in quiet part of Sweden. Being my family they at least know all of my quirks and know that when I come out with a particular odd sentence that it is totally by accident. They are all loud, shameless, mad and funny people. Though when I was growing up I was convinced that my parents were the most embarrassing parents in the world and that I had been mixed up at the maternity hospital as a baby. I love them all and wish I could see them more often but such is life. So there might be a few posts about them in the pipeline. You have been warned.

The tattoo that I have been thinking of getting will most likely be done soon. I have been in touch with a tattoo studio with my ideas and might pop in there this weekend, if I can. The artist, whose studio it is, is very good but he is unfortunately booked up until hell freezes over (slight exaggeration here) but he has 3 other artists that he has full confidence in…or so he says. Am a bit nervous about getting this tattoo which really is silly as I already have two small ones but it is probably because this one is more important to me and because I have actually put some thought into the design. I just want to makes sure it turns out well and not looking like some horrid cliché. There will be pics posted here, once I have finalized the design and it is actually inked in.

Just finished a lovely soup and salad for dinner which means I now have to clean both the laptop screen and wash my jumper… this tends to happen when a cherry tomato falls like a V-2 bomb back onto the plate making a splash landing in the dressing. Time for some cleaning.

 

Comments
  1. Dennis Hong says:

    Maybe you need one of these…. 😉

    Laptop bib

  2. Dennis Hong says:

    Aww. I think my comment got spammed. 😦

  3. Hi Ivy~
    I once read that ‘Good writers write what they know.’ I don’t know if I’m a good writer, but ‘writing what I know’ seemed to be the only thing I felt ‘qualified’ to write about, so I guess that’s why I write a lot about my kids / family.

    Your own family stories sound like they could be really interesting, because it sounds like you have a really unique background. I’m looking forward to hearing more! Good luck!
    ~Christy

    P.S. Thanks for the link!

  4. Ivy Blaise says:

    Christy – as long as you feel you enjoy what you are writing about…that is the main thing I believe. You seem to enjoy it and that is what makes it good. 🙂

    I have to sort through some memories and see what I can come up with..this could go horribly wrong… 🙂

  5. Aha I like about the anonymous bit, but that hardly stays. Most of the time, all anonymity fades away on reading the lines- gives away the person !!! So when are you starting the family blog ?! Hope you got a customized laptop bib…or maybe fluids within 2m radius of the laptop would be a-not-so-bad idea.

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      I will put up a few posts about that strange family of mine every once in a while. Am still trying to put a few things together. I have opted for the “no food close to laptop…” solution for now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

