A glass of red

Posted: November 20, 2010 in Life, Life changes, Miscellaneous
Tags: , , , , , , ,
Glass of Red Wine with Cork

Image by TheBusyBrain via Flickr

I am feeling old today. Not old as in “about to grab my zimmer-frame and gingerly move to find my medication” but more in the “oh my god it is Saturday night and here am I sitting at home almost falling asleep at eight o’clock in the evening”.

Maybe I am old… or maybe I am just a very sad example of a 30-something women who works too much, doesn’t work out enough and as always needs to shed a few pounds. Alternatively I have just been around my two cats too much and have been assimilated to that extent that all I want is play, sleep and eat.

The scary bit about feeling the way I feel this evening is that I am actually OK about it. I really couldn’t be bothered going out tonight. I feel like sitting in my nice and warm apartment reading some of my favourite blogs, maybe reading a good book and then perhaps watching something on the TV. Topping this with a nice meal and a glass of red wine.

The scarier bit is reading the above paragraph back to myself and then going…Oh lord what has happened to me??! I am clutching at memories of fun wild nights out with an ungodly amount of alcohol consumed. Then I realize that the memories are just that… memories… and that is what they should be. Great, fun and loved memories. Trying to relive something never works. Tried it before and failed miserably. Making new memories is more fun anyway.

So, summa summarum; I will stick to my glass of wine for tonight (well bottle really) and will make new wild memories another day instead.

Slánte!

Comments
  1. Ah well sometimes weekends can end up being quieter than weekdays, but it kinda feels nice to have a whole glass of red wine to yourself. Can let the fun wait one more day 🙂

  2. You’re still making memories…. just of a slightly less rollicking sort! Anyway, your liver will thank you in the morning! : )

  3. Martin M says:

    It’s great that you can enjoy a glass of red every now and then. I mean, you should now while you don’t have kids because it will change… Don’t know what you mean by working too much, do you actually work at M$? I wish I could work much. Work is easy, being unemployed is hard. I miss you and Anders, you guys should come visit me and Karen!! 🙂

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      Hi there! A glass of red is great…well so was the entire bottle..hrrmmm. 🙂 And yes, I have never worked so much in my life… I could easily do +12 hour days every day unless I just decide to go home. Hope it goes well with your studies and all. Miss you too! We definitely want to come over and visit you and Karen. Will keep you posted. 🙂

      • Anders says:

        Welcome dear sir! Indeed, we should pop on over and “tango”. I’ll actually be in NY this Sunday. For a full two hours… at JFK … *sigh* Ah well, perhaps there’s some nice wine I can sample while I wait for the next flight, taking me to Texas.

Leave a Reply

