1st of Advent

Posted: November 28, 2010 in Food, Life, Miscellaneous
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Today it is the 1st of Advent. This symbolizes for many in Sweden the real start of the Christmas period. It is traditionally the day when most put up their Christmas decorations and in almost every window you can see an advent candelabra lighting up the dark. The Christmas markets start up properly and everywhere you go you can hear Christmas music. Lots of gingerbread cookies are eaten and lots of mulled wine is consumed. I love this time of year.

I need to go and dig out the Christmas decorations under the stairs as well. The fact that it is all white and snowy outside makes it all the more cosy. I will get it all done during the week though. Today I will just relax. I will enjoy the fact that I can spend some time on my own (well, with two furballs) as A is away on a business trip for a little while. Maybe I will have some nice hot chocolate with just a hint of rum…

Have a nice 1st Advent everyone!

Comments
  1. Mmmmm…..gingerbread and mulled wine….Maybe some baking is in order to help you feel better?

  2. Ivy Blaise says:

    Definitely! 🙂 I think I will bake a few Lucia buns this week (sweet buns with saffron and raisins)..Very nice!

Leave a Reply

