Slowly back on (icy)track?

Posted: November 30, 2010 in Driving, Life, Martial arts
Tags: , , , , , ,
Snowflake. Small microscope kept outdoors. Sna...

Image via Wikipedia

I dared the elements and ventured out in the ice and snow among the deserted streets of Dublin to go the extra mile, to make the effort to, to make it to the club for a training class.

OK… slight exaggeration… it wasn’t that dramatic really. I drove to the dojo…it was a bit icy and a bit snowy and no problem at all. I just took it easy but listening to the radio in the car one would think that we are in the deadlock of -35 degrees with 15 feet of snow. Talks about bitterly cold arctic conditions and making no unnecessary journeys etc. FFS… it is about -1 and a bit icy…OK, some spots were more icy than others..but still!

Now that is not the point of this post. My point is that I was back training and it was great. It ended up just being three of us (instructor plus two students) but I really enjoyed myself. We had a very open mat evening trying out a few different things. It feels really good that I went there tonight. I need to feel that I am getting back on track as I have missed too much already.

Bring on Thursday!

 

Comments
  1. Good for you! I need to find some motivation in that area……I’ve been horribly delinquent. And I’m reminded of that every day I zip up my jeans. (Sigh)

    • Anders Holm says:

      Don’t look for motivation first. Just go. Motivation will catch up with you once your head starts missing the training. It’s not looking for the motivation that is the real problem. It’s not listening to all the excuses not to go that swirls around the back of the head that’s the problem…

      Once you listen to the excuses, you just won’t go. So, set your schedule and simply just go. Remind yourself that time spent training is time spent on you and that it makes you feel great afterwards.

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      Oh believe me I know that feeling… that reminder is the worse one ever! I swear there is a leprechaun in my wardrobe exchanging my clothes to a smaller size at night….

Leave a Reply

