Christmas card writers block…

Posted: December 15, 2010 in Miscellaneous, Rant
Tags: , , , , , ,
Christmas cards with angels, scandinavian “nis...

Image via Wikipedia

Ugghhh it is that time of year again. Time to write Christmas cards en masse. Every year it is the same story, I buy the cards and might even remember to buy stamps (if I am very lucky) and then I forget to put pen to paper (well, card). Until… the first texts start dropping in asking for my address and it hits me that it can only mean that someone is busy getting those cards sorted and it also means that I really need to send one to them as well. I know…it is that whole guilt trip thing. Then I forget again…and then the first cards drop into the letterbox…arrgghhh!

So here I am. Sitting down, have dedicated time to write these damn Christmas cards and what happens? I can’t think of anything witty or half-way intelligent to write at all…. if I write “Merry Xmas and happy new year, hope you’ll have a good one” again I do not know what I will do. How fun is that to read in a card… so instead I am blogging (read: whining) about my lack of inspiration.

Sigh.

OK, will now make an effort and get these cards done BEFORE Christmas actually arrives. Let’s hope the postman doesn’t get stuck anywhere…

 

Comments
  1. Ooooh. I feel your pain. Every year that I’m filling out my Xmas cards, I’m pretty sure I’m never quite in the right ‘Christmas spirit’ frame of mind. I’m usually growling a little bit. Not that I don’t like Xmas, and not that I don’t like my friends and family. I just don’t like filling out cards! Like you said, how many ways can you creatively say “merry Christmas and happy new year”??!!

  2. Great post! This year for the first time ever I opted out and bought the slick photo kind that you can’t write on!

  3. And the e-cards are never the same. I’ve tried to get away with sending those out, but for the most part, they either go unread, or are simply forgotten (not that Christmas cards are all that memorable in the first place). Stupid Christmas industry!

  4. […] this article: Christmas card writers block… Posted on 2010 年 12 月 15 日 by lanshang1460. This entry was posted in 未分类 and tagged […]

  5. bobcb518 says:

    Congrats on being featured.

  6. This year for Christmas, I dressed like a pimp and posed with two of my lady friends and took a picture with a digital camera. Then I uploaded it to my computer where I typed, “Happy Holidays from your boy T-Bone.” Then I sent it to a bunch of random people in the phone book.

  7. Samantha McNamara says:

    As of today, I have 51 completed Christmas cards ready for shipment.

  8. Bob says:

    I delegate the Christmas card duty to someone who is actually good at it.
    Being a man I would just stare at the pile and eventually wander away in search of food.

  9. Ollin says:

    Congrats on being freshly pressed. I got on there a couple of weeks ago. It’s crazy isn’t it? Happy Holidays. 🙂

  10. Debbie says:

    I only send cards to people who I am in touch with the rest of the year. You mentioned people asking for your address – well if they don’t know where you live, they can’t know you that well, so why send a card? Because the calendar says so?

    The only people who get any joy out of the mass Christmas card sending are Hallmark and the Post Office.

    Sorry if this sounds a bit “bah, humbug” but I do find all this to be a bit contrived.

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      Hi Debbie. I know what you mean and I agree with the whole Hallmark and Post office rip-off. The people who ask for my address though are mainly friends and we meet up but mainly write to eachother via email or on FB…so never really keep track of postal addresses. I am no better myself to be honest in that respect… 🙂

  11. jamieonline says:

    Christmas card writing is an art. It should be recognised officially (I think so anyway). This year I had my pile of cards to write. Family, friends, replies to people who sent me them last year, but I forgot them….. The list went on. I have sent them all… I think.
    Last year I was a lot more organised and had written them during my half term (teacher holiday) in October. It was early but a relief for me.
    This year I had sent the cards off only to receive a message including a change of address (1 day too late!!!). Hey ho.
    Have a great Christmas.
    Jamie

  12. I can’t agree with you here – I love doing the Christmas card thing. It’s about my favorite 🙂

  13. I can so relate! I’m fighting a legal battle (the ex and his wife are trying to sue me to stop my blog, of all things), I’m working, I’m writing freelance stories — where do the Christmas cards fit in?

    Oh well. Maybe I’ll try e-cards. Nah… 😉

  14. this might be reason #1 im glad i was raised jewish.
    http://dearexgirlfriend.com/

  15. Deanna says:

    When, I ask myself every year, will we kick the Christmas card habit to the curb? I am getting an increasing amount of emailed cards, much more environmentally friendly, and many have “elfed” themselves, and in spite of myself I laugh at their little faces bobbing as their bodies do improbable dance moves, every time.
    Next year I’m going to elf our family. A simpler day is coming.

  16. rtcrita says:

    Knowing how to create my own cards in Photoshop has really helped me. I can individualize each one to suit the person. I just send them through email or print them and mail them. My post this week even offers readers free cards for their own personal use. http://rtcrita.wordpress.com/2010/12/13/free-christmas-cards/ Instructions on how to pull them from my site for free are included. Use them, if you like. You can just use a photo or image and no need for writing!

  17. educlaytion says:

    Funny post. I just threw this thought out on Twitter last night:

    I love the personal touch though because we’re missing that. But some thing are a pain for sure! Congrats on FP.

  18. Lenore Diane says:

    I commend you for taking pen to paper and writing in your Christmas card. I don’t write a Christmas letter, but I do write a little personal note in every card. Sure, it may consist of what you said, “Hope it is a good one”. Still, I prefer that to the impersonal, simply signed or photo greeting. Trust me, your efforts are appreciated (perhaps even envied!).
    Merry Christmas!

  19. seepurple says:

    I know how you feel. I’ve learned sometimes the simplest things are the greatest. “Merry Christmas”, “Hope you and your loved ones have a great Christmas”, “Have a very Merry Christmas”…and if it’s someone you’ll see or might see during christmas “Merry Christmas, hope I’ll see you Christmas Eve”…etc. *LOL* It’s probably to late to help you. I think we’ve all been there. Don’t feel bad it’s short. Heck most of the Christmas cards I get from others say one thing…their name. I think a “Merry Christmas” hand written even if the card already has it on there is something special. But that’s just me. I’ll sit down a pout with you though..between that and finding perfect gift..It can be so hard!

  20. colleensays says:

    I feel your pain (er, Xmas writer’s bloc). I write all day and usually just want to turn off my brain. Enter TV remote control!
    >Congrats on FP>

  21. cassiecares says:

    I think Christmas cards offer an excuse to be sentimental toward people you don’t normally share feelings with. Maybe it’s time to tell that friend how much you appreciate him? “I truly value your friendship. Have a wonderful holiday.” It doesn’t have to be wordy, just thoughtful!

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      Have a feeling if I wrote sentimental cards my friends would ask if I wrote the cards in the pub… 🙂 But I know what you mean, it is a really nice thing to say.

  22. midnitechef says:

    I’m so far behind this year on cards that I’ve opted to send an electronic version. Maybe that will give us enough time to put ourselves in a cute Christmas family photo to include with a letter.

  23. Love your post, feel your guilt.

  24. Leah says:

    That’s why I get the photo cards with the imprinted message, so I don’t have to write anything!

  25. D.A. says:

    This made me laugh. I’m the same way – I buy the cards (usually not the stamps), and forget all about them until someone asked me for an address and then I’m reminded and say “damnit”.. really – where did this tradition come from? It seems so silly.

    Congrats on being freshly pressed!

  26. Maggie says:

    Wow. You took the words right out of my head. 🙂

  27. What messes me up is when I’ve already done my cards and then people ask for my address and give me theirs. So, I write it in my address book (yes, I have a physical paper address book)…then later on, I can’t remember if I sent their card yet — because maybe what I remember is just writing it in the book, not on the envelope.
    I usually can’t think of much to say either. I don’t think it matters, it’s just nice to get cards in this digital age.

  28. Write about Sustainable Santa. He is my newest creation. His message needs to be spread.
    http://conscientiousness.wordpress.com/2010/12/17/sustainable-santa-is-coming-to-town/

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  29. Mrs F says:

    I was able to cheat this year – lost my address book when I moved house in the summer, then my iphone lost my addresses last month when I did a sync, so I emailed a message to everyone this year – much more satisfying as I only needed to write one message and it took much less time, and yet no-one got missed out.

    Might try it again next year and claim senile dementia.

    And congratulations on being featured, well deserved, your blog is a hoot.

  30. Leba Nexican says:

    I always find it hard to write thoughtful notes to friends and family…over and over and over. It’s especially difficut when you write to people who, though they’re important to you, you simply haven’t talked to in a while. And yet, I send a small batch of Christmas cards every year to people who have shown me kindness over the years, and especially over the past year. Something like, “It was great to see you back in August, and I hope to see you in the New Year. May 2011 be full of health, happiness and prospertiy” is somewhat of a template.
    Best of luck to you in getting those cards sent by next Friday!

  31. We sent 33 cards this year and enclosed a letter in them. I enjoy writing the letter as it is a way to remember all the good (and bad and weird) of the prior year and share it — FB is OK but not great. I love getting cards so I figure if I don’t send them, I won’t get them!

  32. managermamma says:

    I never know what to write on Christmas cards, luckily our Italian cards come with already written messages. If the card is blank, I unfailingly end up writing “Buon Natale e Buon Anno” (Merry Christmas and Happy New Year)…which is definitely not very creative. Buon Natale to you!:)

  33. Grinch says:

    Ha! Great post – you are not alone in your Christmas card anguish.

  34. Sunflowerdiva says:

    I have yet to send out Christmas cards. I send out e-cards to my friends, and then buy some nice cards from a store and stick a picture in there for family. Words, however, aren’t something I like to dwell on. I just write (or type) something that sounds like ME, and I don’t try to make it super-duper fancy or happy or anything.

    Merry Christmas! And congrats on the Freshly Pressed!

  35. Reggie says:

    It is totally difficult to come up with good stuff to say on all those cards! Sometimes a name is all I can come up with!

    -Reg
    http://bofadeez.blogspot.com/2010/12/happy-holidays.html

  36. Hiratakanko says:

    Ohoooo… I feel you pain..!

    Why don’t you write in another language??

    I am a japanese so “メリークリスマス” means “Merry Christmas”

  37. 4myskin says:

    We almost always get our cards out late! It’s just the way it works. lol Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!! 😀

  38. […] story when it comes to writing and sending Christmas cards, as you might remember from last years post. There are some cards that kind off have to be written (let’s face it, my parents do not […]

  39. […] and am trying to find inspiration as to what to write. This is a subject I have ranted on before, here and […]

Leave a Reply

