The lure of old photos

Posted: February 12, 2011 in Family, Life, Reflections
Tags: , , , , ,

I love old pictures.

I have spent part of the day copying over old photos that my aunt and sister have scanned in.

My parents have a whole bunch of pictures in an old shoebox. They are not particularly organized or even dated. I used to spend hours going through them all as a kid. It captivated me looking at those black and white pictures and fantasize about what the people in them might have been like or what they were doing at the particular time.

There is just something about these old family pictures that fascinates me. I find it especially intriguing when I discover family resemblances generations back. I can see family traits from generations back in pictures of me and my nieces and nephews and so forth. Looking at these pictures makes me wonder what my kids would look like. If I ever decide to have any. Well, that is a whole other topic and one I am not sure I want to go into.

While going through these newly scanned pictures I have also come across pictures from my parents youth. They bring a smile to my face.

This is my great-grandmother. Anders pointed out that I sometimes have the same facial expression as she has here. Hrmmm..:

My grand mother 1934. She was quite a lady:

I love this picture of my parents! :

Think that is enough for now. I like sharing pictures. It doesn’t bother me…but right now I am feeling a bit contemplative. Part of me wants to rage as I never got to know my grand parents (they passed away when I was very young), another part smiles while looking at all the pictures feeling all warm and cosy. These people are part of me.

Comments
  1. Bob says:

    It’s so easy to get caught up in the present, that a break to explore the past is always nice. When my father passed last year we went through all of the old scrapbooks and photos of him as a lad.

    Turns out he really rocked a leather jacket and Pompadour haircut!

    Glad that you got to take some time to reconnect with who you are.

  2. I love old photos, too. These are great. Just based on the few photos you’ve posted of yourself on here, I think you look an awful lot like your grandmother! Does anyone else ever tell you that?

    Love that vintage look of the photo of your parents. So nostalgic.

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      Well, some say I look like my great grandmother, some my grandmother but more on my Dad’s side. I do not have many pics of my grandparents on my Dads side. Think I need to raid their box a bit next time I am home. 🙂

      The pic of my parents is from the early 70’s I think.

  3. nikki04 says:

    Love these! Thank you for sharing! I love old photos too… and learning about my family heritage.

    I also didn’t get much of a chance to know my grandparents. :-/

  4. Great photos !!! An interesting peek down the lineage…as for the similarity with ur great-grandmother, it’s there indeed. Do post more of ’em.

  5. Your parents look so content. I love looking at old photos, too. Even ones that don’t feature cats.

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      Yeah I really like that picture. I know which lake it is as well. It is a great spot to chill out at in the summer.

      I have few old photos that include kittens as well if you want…. animals have always had an important part in my family.

Leave a Reply

