Curveballs

Posted: February 17, 2011 in Driving, Life
Tags: , , , , , ,

This is turning out to be quite an expensive week so far. First the charges that I made on my VISA card while on my holiday are starting to show up on my statement. How did it add up so fast?

Then we discovered that we need to re-tile the en-suite shower as we have a persistent issue with water damage. This is where i could go off in a rant about incompetent builders that installed it in the first place but I do not have the energy for that right now.

To make things even better my beloved car started to overheat on my way home from work the other day which really causes me problems as without my car it is a nightmare to get to work and I refuse to take public transport for 2 hours when it takes me 30 min to drive. So into the garage she goes. Of course it is not a simple issue… they are still trying to find the cause of the problem… please, please let it not be the head gasket! If it is it will cost me over 600 euro…. (bye-bye Malaga weekend trip with the girls, which already started to look unlikely).

The most important thing that I need to remember here is that I still need to be able to laugh about things. The best comment I got in regards to my car was from one of the girls in work. I pointed out that my car was sick and had a fever… her response was “… just pour a bottle of Butterworth into the tank and wrap up and let it have a good sweat…”

Loved that!

I might be getting very close to be very broke but with a few good laughs it will be grand. Life might through a few curveballs at me but you know what… hahaha!

Comments
  1. Bob says:

    Yea I know the bills sure do stack up quickly. My February’s haven’t been the same since I met Darlene. With Christmas a not yet faded fiscal memory I face the obligatory Valentines Day onslaught plus Darlene’s Birthday. (Today!)

    But wait there’s more. My Daughters 13th birthday looms on the weekend teenage girls are not cheap as you well know. And as an added bonus Dominick, Dar’s son is turning 18 on Monday the 19th. YAAYYYY there goes my bonus out the window pretty damn fast!

    Plus I kinda got a photo radar ticket in the mail, $200. See ya!

    I guess the moral of the story is no matter what side of the pond you’re on the wallet can always take a severe beating on a moments notice.

    Good luck getting your little car back on the road.

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      Ouch! sounds like you have quite the expenditure ahead of you as well. It is amazing how it always seems to come at the same time isn’t it.

      And I heard about speed cameras being put up on the motorway here now…. crap.
      200 dollars fine though…ohhh hefty!

      Hope you have fun at the all those birthday parties anyway. 🙂

  2. nikki04 says:

    Oh Ivy! We’re in car trouble hell together! Although… I hope yours ends up being not all that bad… My landlord’s daughter backed into my car three weeks ago. It finally went under the knife on Monday – they called to tell me it was going to be $700 not $450 (as is the case with body work – it’s called an ESTIMATE for a reason) and she flipped shit. Ended up delaying the work so I STILL do not have a car. I’ve been having to get rides from friends (public transport is, shocking, not an option here!) and haven’t been to yoga since Monday ~ I’m starting to flip!

    I should’ve gone through insurance b/c then I’d have a rental but… was trying to be nice to her! Augh.

    Oh, life! 😀

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      It sucks being without your own car doesn’t it? I just got a call a bit ago from the garage saying that they found the problem and got it sorted. Luckily it was not the worst case scenario so it will “only” cost me 300 USD approx. Ahh well it could be worse. The guys are actually pretty solid and they never take the piss and charge you for things that are not there etc. 🙂

      Hope you get your 4-wheeler back soon.

  3. Oh, good news! I just read your comment above that it is not the ‘worst case scenario’ with your car. Don’t you just sometimes feel that the Universe is punishing for enjoying yourself?! Last week, I went to lunch with a friend – very spur of the moment kind of thing – and we had a long, leisurely lunch, that included a couple of margaritas. The next day….bam! my daughter wakes up with a fever and is home sick. It’s like it’s the price the Universe is extracting for me taking some time to enjoy myself. Ugh.

    You, go on vacation, come home, and boom! are hit with expenses on top of expenses! There must be a Murphy’s Law of some kind about this, I think….

    Anyway, glad to hear it’s not serious problems with your car!
    Cheers!
    ~Christy

Leave a Reply

