The gym to the rescue

Posted: March 20, 2011 in Rant
Tags: , , , , ,

Anger. That is what I have felt today. I cannot pinpoint the exact trigger or moment it hit me but when it did it was with a vengeance.

I needed to release some steam, some serious steam. Arguing did not sound like a tempting option as it is too mentally exhausting on top of everything so instead I decided for the much safer (for everyone else) option of going to my local gym. I was fuming when I drove there, the guy tailgating would have died if looks could kill. I was snappy with the poor girl in the gym reception when she told that they could not see my renewal on the computer due to some error. Talk about bad timing. I do feel quite bad about that… I normally never behave that way.

I finally got changed and almost ran up the stairs. Music blasting and I hit the treadmill, the cross-trainer and the weights.  For over an hour my brain shut down. No thoughts, nothing. Just legs and arms moving. Muscles contracting and releasing. Heaven.

Legs shaking when stretching reminded me that I need to go more often. I have a feeling I will spend quite a few evenings in there. Have thought about mornings but am hesitating as I am no morning person at all really but we’ll see. They do have early morning spinning sessions…

How do I feel now? A bit better. Exhausted.

Comments
  1. Bob says:

    I know the feeling, the anger just swells up inside of you, coming from nowhere and everywhere all at once. People going about their day is irritating, kittens look evil and suspicious and puppy’s deserve to be kicked. GRRRRRR stay clear.

  2. leafprobably says:

    I find boxing classes amazing for this kind of anger – especially when they’re mostly on a bag. It means I can just punch the crap out of something without worrying about being nice to a partner or making conversation. Then afterwards when you’re lying in a puddle of sweat stretching you remember that you were angry about something before class, but for the life of you, you can’t remember what 🙂

  3. I couldn’t have said it better than @leafprobably! So true. I hope the gym helped.

    I should follow your lead….I usually end up cooking or baking when I’m stressed, and it’s not nearly as good for the waistline!

    Hope you’re feeling better!

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      Hahaha yeah i know what you mean about baking – it is a good way to relieve stress but oh so bad for the waistline. At least considering what I would bake. 🙂

  4. nikki04 says:

    Anger is a part of the process. It’s usually a good sign, as long as you deal with it – by going to the gym. 😀

  5. Anger, there are two faces to it, the constructive side or the destructive one. Gym sounds like a great place to deal with it. It’s actually beneficial for me, ‘coz maybe there is a slim chance of getting into that dress, I have been dying to wear. ( All you males, hold your tongue 🙂 !! ). Have fun this weekend 🙂

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      It is a much better way to deal with anger by going to the gym than to let it eat you up from the inside. And yes… maybe that particular dress etc will fit later on 😀

Leave a Reply

