Pin-balling between elation and the blues

Posted: April 4, 2011 in Life, Life changes
Tags: , , ,

So here I am. On the sofa in my new place, typing out a post on my phone as I still have no Internet set up. The place is a mess. I have spent three days moving my things and I am still not finished. I knew having a coupe car would have it’s disadvantages…

I am pretty exhausted. Not only is it physical demanding lugging all those boxes and bags up and down numerous stairs but it has also been emotionally taxing. Most times I have been ok and have tried to focus on being excited about making the new place into my own space. There have been moments of immense sadness as well. Looking at the empty shelves in the old place was hard. I remembered how happy I was putting it all up little over four years ago and it did hit me pretty hard.

I have had great help moving for a full day from a good friend which was fantastic. It does make such a difference and makes it much easier. Another friend popped around today with lunch and it was nice to take a break for a bit.

Tomorrow is another “moving stuff” day. Will try to get as much done of the last things as I can. Then it’s back to work again and it will be a busy week, what’s left if it.

In three days it is my birthday as well. This last year has been a bit mental. Will the 35th year of my life be a good one? Let’s hope and make it so.

Comments
  1. Anders Holm says:

    Yes, coming home and seeing the place half empty was a bit of a kick in the b***s. I remember how excited you were when we got the furniture put together and how much you put into getting the place really nice. Those bloody stairs for example. I can well imagine you had an emotional day today.

    But I also know you’re a strong woman and that you’ll persevere (nin) as long as you keep going (gambatte) and you’ll do so with a smile on your face. You’ll find light at the end of the tunnel.

  2. leafprobably says:

    I actually happen to really enjoy moving. There’s something about having a fresh new slate that makes me happy.

    And I’m easily distracted from emotional pain by things like room layout, colour paletes and decor…

  3. Oh, Ivy… my heart aches for you! I know that pain, and truly, I feel for you. Sometimes, though, there’s not much you can do but put one foot in the front of the other, and carry on. If it helps in any way, please know I am sending you good vibes and thoughts, and hoping all the best for you as you soon begin your 35th year. Wish I could be there to toast with you! : )

    xxoo ~
    Christy

    • Ivy says:

      Thanks hon!! Good vibes always help. One step at a time and it will go forward. I will keep a toast for you. 🙂 To good times ahead.

  4. Bob says:

    You’ll get there one box at a time. Just try not to stress about too much. Take care of you and things will work out in the end girl.

    Happy Almost Birthday!!

  5. Take it from a recent mover….take the un-packing one day at a time. You really don’t need to set up everything pronto. Just one room every couple of days. When it gets too tedious, I called in reinforcements, yep friends do a lot of wonders. A room a week max, it ll be over soon. Happy re-settling in.

  6. Ivy Blaise says:

    Susi… I will have you know that the sun is shining right now and spring is here. 17 degrees today 🙂

    Relaxing on the beach sounds great!

  7. FeistyWoman says:

    Hi Ivy! Happy Belated 35th! I hope it was a great one. 🙂

    I hear on moving. It’s so effing stressful and emotionally draining. I hope you are finding comfort where you are now. A new place of your own is really exciting! 🙂

    <3,

    Melissa

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      Hi Melissa! Thank you!! Yes it was a good one. Am paying for now though but worth it. 🙂
      A new place is exciting and it is starting to look really good. Yay!!
      XO

Leave a Reply

