Two years and still a newbie

Posted: April 19, 2011 in Martial arts
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I am just back from another great training session at the dojo. It was warm in there tonight. I am soaked and in dire need of a nice shower. Food first though and while I’ll rummaged through my fridge I realized that I’ve now been at the club for about 2 years.

It was in April 2009 that I started in the beginners class. I can’t believe it is two years already. It feels like it was yesterday that I turned up for my first class. I remember being nervous and excited at the same time. Nervous about what the others would be like and if I would make a complete fool out of myself. Excited because it seemed like fun and because I finally had the guts to try it out.

Today I still have those feelings when going to class. Maybe not as nervous as I was then but the nerves still play a part when we look at doing a technique that is somewhat new to me (which most ones still are). Mainly though I’m excited. I know I will leave feeling good. I know it will be exhausting, sometimes frustrating, bloody hard at times but always fun. There always a chance that some tiny little piece of the puzzle might click into place at that particular class. It can be a long time in between but when it does… it is the best feeling ever.

Two years. I still feel like a complete newbie and you know what… that is totally OK. I have a funny feeling I will feel this way for a long time, if not always. It just means there is more to learn, more to explore. More fun to be had.

Now to that shower…

Comments
  1. Bob says:

    Great attitude!! Keep it up and someday you may just be kicking the snot out of your own Newbie!

  2. mainlyvoid says:

    You have more guts than some of the lads in there. 🙂

  3. Fun that’s the most important part of it; beginner or old school, in the end, it doesn’t matter. 🙂

  4. Hey girl….it’s been a crazy week, so I’m just now catching up with you….

    I just wanted to tell you that you ROCK! I am pretty certain there is no way I could do what you do in that gym! And you know, feeling like a ‘newbie’ is probably a good thing…. I think sometimes when we feel like we’ve ‘mastered’ something, we start looking around for a new challenge, ready to move on. Feeling like a newbie probably helps keep you motivated and interested and inspired.

    Sweat, and a good challenge, are good things!

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      Hey! Thanks 🙂 I am pretty sure you could do it… I mean you are a great mum to two kids.. that is a martial art in itself!

      I am just back from this evenings training session and I am beat but smiling. Will collapse in my bed now… Have a great Easter!

Leave a Reply

