Just what I needed, without knowing I did.

Posted: May 10, 2011 in Life, Martial arts
Tags: , , , , , ,
Illustration depicting thought.

Image via Wikipedia

It is late. It is very late and I have to get up early tomorrow and be somewhat productive in work. Still… I am not ready for bed yet. I sit here listening to The Weepies and thinking about the training session at the dojo that I’m just back from.

Earlier today I was fine but I was tired and had a slight headache. The thought of working out was not very high on my “want-to-do-today” list. After a lot of back and forth of… I’ll leave it – Come on now, I have to go… I decided I will go after all as I did not go last week due to a nasty cold (because as we all know colds are a thing of evil).

So off I went – happy once the decision was made. It was the right decision. It was a really good training session. Great from a physical perspective were I could feel my body work out properly and get rid off all the hidden stress. I somehow didn’t want it to end. It was hot, sweaty, a bit painful (yes I will have new bruises again) but worth every push.

It was even greater from a mental perspective – somehow it answered some questions I had been mulling over. Questions and thoughts that before were jumbled now seemed to be clear. A sense of achievement and a belief in me re-established. I cannot explain how this happened and nor do I really care to try.

Sometimes it only hits you afterwards that THIS is what was needed. It was only two hours but I needed them. I was not aware of how much.

Right now… I am tired and I have a slight headache but I am going to bed happy.

Comments
  1. FeistyWoman says:

    Sounds therapeutic. A good workout always feels good, just not so much before. Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Love,

    Melissa

  2. nikki04 says:

    It’s always interesting to me how much you realize you did or did not need to do something until after you do it.

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      Oh it could probably keep a good few psycho-analysts busy for some time discussing how the conscious mind tends to over-rationalize what we feel and therefore block out what we really need but subconsciously it is there etc etc. It is interesting.

  3. Movedup says:

    I can relate with the “not what I really want to do today” and dragging my ass out the door and off to the dojang. In fact I am fighting that today. Its raining and gloomy outside and I would rather curl up on the couch and watch stupid tv. I know once I get there I will be glad I went but its the getting there. Why is that always so hard for something that I “love” when I am doing it? Thoughts?

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      It is hard when you get that feeling isn’t it. I know that for me it is just laziness and tiredness most of the time. Even though I KNOW that I will be wide awake and happy once I am at the dojo. I have yet to find the magical formula on how to beat the feeling “oh maybe I should stay in’… only way that has worked so far is thinking of a thing one of my instructors once said: “It is during those times that you really need to go. You need to be able to fight when tired as well. The training is your responsibility”.

      That and also… I feel bad when I do not show up. I feel I am letting someone down somehow… and that normally is enough for me to drag my sorry butt there. 🙂

  4. Movedup says:

    Your Master sounds like mine – she says “the more you sweat in training the less you bleed in battle”

Leave a Reply

