There are only two things to worry about…

Posted: May 21, 2011 in Rant
Tags: , , , , , ,
Rapture Ready!

Image by richardmasoner via Flickr

The world will end, starting from today… or so some claim anyway. So what to make out of that? Do I believe that this is the end of mankind and that the righteous will ascend to heaven and the wicked (most of humanity it seems) will suffer for eternity? Ehhh… no I do not believe so.

Anyone is entitled to their beliefs and this should be respected. I truly believe in the freedom of religion. However, when the belief turns into an excuse to treat others badly then I will draw the line.

I grew up in a small community where religion played a large part. In a small town of barely 2000 inhabitants, we had 5 different christian churches. My family was not part of any church and we most certainly were in minority. In general people around us respected the choices of my parents. Just as my parents respected their beliefs. My father knew that he could not borrow any tools on a Sunday as it was a day of rest for most of our neighbors. Once Monday came our neighbors gladly helped out. It was about respecting your fellow-man and neighbor. Is this not what is at the core of most the established religions? To treat your fellow-man well?

I do believe that mankind is very good at creating suffering as it is. I mean… just look at the world today with wars, genocides, starvation, exploitations and so forth. We should be far more concerned about our human tendency to treat others with so little regard and compassion. Condemning another person because they do not believe in a certain religious ideology will not give you a free card to heaven.

As I do not “subscribe” to any religion that is out there – this means, in some people’s view, that I am a lost cause and half-way to hell. Well I’ll tell you what… being a Christian, Muslim, Buddhist etc etc does not automatically make you a good person. It is what you actually do with this life that defines you. It is in this life that you make choices that affect others around you on a day to day basis and with others I mean everyone regardless of their beliefs.

It really riles me up when someone has the gall to dismiss me as unworthy just because I do not attend church 5 times a week. I have met enough people who faithfully go to church, that can cite scripture but who would not support another person in need just because they do not share the same religious beliefs. I have seen a former acquaintance dropping a friend after many years of friendship just because the other entered into a relationship with someone of the same sex. A friend cast aside just because she fell in love with another woman. Others are judged and condemned for various other reasons… too many to list.

What ever happened with “love thy neighbor” and decent human compassion?

I do not claim to be perfect or claim that I’m always a good person. I do my best and sometimes I fail. Maybe I should be more understanding and turn the other cheek but I just can’t. Things like this piss me off. I think it is plain stupid.

There are many good persons out there, from all belief systems, and in the end of the day… that is all that should matter.

So I guess we’ll find out if this whole “rapture” thing will happen or not. If it does and if it means that heaven will be filled with all these doomsayers and fundamentalists…well, then I rather join the rest of my friends downstairs.

Or as they say in Ireland:

“In life, there are only two things to worry about… Either you are well or you are sick. If you are well, there is nothing to worry about, But if you are sick, there are only two things to worry about… Either you will get well or you will die. If you get well, there is nothing to worry about,

But if you die, there are only two things to worry about… Either you will go to heaven or hell. If you go to heaven, there is nothing to worry about.

And if you go to hell, you’ll be so busy shaking hands with all your friends… You won’t have time to worry!”

Comments
  1. We’re on the same page on this, Ivy.

    Love the Irish saying! That’s so great!

    So, this ‘rapture’ thing was supposed to happen at 6 pm today (from what I’ve heard), and seeing as how it’s 6 pm where you are, it should have happened there already. And yet, here you are, still blogging…about the ‘rapture’ itself, no less! ha! Well, if we both miss it (I have about three hours to find out!), I’m with you: I don’t think I’ll be too sad.

  2. Bob says:

    Guess we were on the same page mentally today Ivy. People just need to lighten up and love. Every one gets so wrapped up in what a book or leader told them to do that they forget to actually THINK about what they are doing.

    Sad really if you think about it. Maybe I’ll pray for them.

  3. […] Ivy Blaise’s there are only two things you need to worry about. […]

  4. In the words of Billy Joel, “I’d rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints …”

  5. nikki04 says:

    Great post, Ivy! You know I wholeheartedly agree! 😀

  6. Movedup says:

    Love Dublin!!!! Glad to hear its still there! Can’t wait to go back – had a blast when I was there for a short time. My family (grandparents) are from County Cork. Also agree with the post – most excellent Ivy – feel the same way. Guess I am a sinner cause I am still here – oh well – better luck next time.

    May you be in heaven a half a hour before the devil knows your dead.

  7. […] There are only two things to worry about… (ivyblaise.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

