What sunscreen factor is cat fur equal to?

Posted: July 3, 2011 in Cats, Life, Miscellaneous
Tags: , , , , ,
UVA protection logo on sunscreens (European Union)

Image via Wikipedia

It is now late afternoon and I have spent most of today outside. A nice walk and several hours lounging in a sun-chair on my balcony. I am good at lounging, excellent even. It is still about 26 degrees C inside my apartment and my cats are in a permanent cat nap position. Very similar to myself.

Getting out of the shower I noticed that I once again have acquired a patchy sun tan. It seems that I am forever doomed to have a mismatch of red and brown nuances covering my body.  Tell me… how do people get a decent covering tan? Don’t tell me it is all fake. Yes, it is a first world problem but really… stripy is not an all that fetching look. Covering myself in sun factor 1000 50 is no option either. It might be “better” for my skin but let’s face it – I do not look good being pale. It makes me look sickly, and living in Ireland makes sense because… Since I tan easily it is just too much work and I love being out and about in the sun.

I am now sporting a lovely red back. I was thinking that I really need to teach my cat how to apply sun lotion… yeah, yeah I know that is a really stupid thought to have. Still though… If my cat would be able to apply sun lotion then I would also get totally covered in cat hair because he is shedding like there is no tomorrow. The thought of being covered in cat hair is not appealing but at the same time… I wonder what sunscreen factor that would be equal to? Wonder if anyone was ever bored enough to research that.

Yep, have been in the sun too long (at least that I my excuse). Think I will follow suit with the rest of the household and have a nap… again.

 

Comments
  1. Well, if there *is* an SPF inherent in cat fur, I think you and I totally need to start our own business! We can supply our own raw materials, dirt cheap!

    I hate wearing sunscreen, but with these Scandinavian genes, well, if I don’t I pretty much just burn, peel, and go back to being pale again, only to start the whole process over. Ah, summer…

  2. Haha! If you can train your cat to do that you better let me in on it! Especially if you can get them to do it without using their claws! 🙂

    Funny post! 😀

  3. Nikki B says:

    I try to limit myself to sun-sans-screen time, but be in the sun on a regular basis, just for shorter periods without screen (especially as I get older – hey cancer!) I also flip over often! 😀 My two cents!

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      I know what you mean… my problem is that I tan after 10 minutes and since I lived in Ireland too long that means I go red first if I do not use any sun screen. I swear my skin has forgotten how to tan properly…

Leave a Reply

