Senses and images.

Posted: July 26, 2011 in Family, Food, Life, Travel
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

The last two weeks have passed really, really fast and I am once again back in Dublin. I have had a great time in Sweden and could write a long detailed account about all the good times, hysterical laughs, great conversations, lively discussions, divine wines drunk and fabulous food eaten… but… I decided not to. Instead I will focus on what tickled my senses and share a few photos with you.

Because it is easy to just write down a point by point description of what I did but this was a holiday that I tried to experience with all my senses. In a way that really relaxed me and did what it was supposed to do – recharge me. So I will try to do my best to convey this to you. If I fail, well then at least you will know one thing… it still was a fabulous holiday!

Laughs with my brother. The smell of paint in the summer air. The sun warming in my back as I work away. Muscles aching in the evening. Feeling relaxed.

The scent of freshly cut grass. The adrenaline when I nearly keeled over – lawn mover go-kart…

That first taste of a cold beer after a day outside. The divine smell from the BBQ.

The sense of calm in the forest. Seeing the light filtering through the trees. The peace all around.

The amazing scent of fir trees after a warm summer shower.

The sweet taste of wild strawberries.

The belly aching laughs when playing Kinect with my sister and brother. The groans of embarrassed despair when seeing the recordings of said gameplay.. (and forget it, NOT sharing those.. ).

The beauty of all the many small lakes dotted between the trees. Sinking into warm still water as the sun sets. The faint sound of buzzing insects.

The smell of the salty ocean. The laughter from children running into the water. Sand between my toes. The sun warming my tummy. The intoxicating scent of sun-kissed skin. Feeling the world slowly tuning out as my eyes get heavy and I snooze in the sun.

The smooth taste from a 10yr old Tullamore Dew single malt. Feeling thoughtful, happy and content in the evening sun.

Calm sea. Not even a breeze to be felt. Distant cries from seagulls echo across the water.

Walking through Ale forest along the coast. A bird sanctuary can be found in a small swamp. The green colours are amazing. The buzzing and blood sucking mosquitoes are not as amazing. The itching bites are annoying but still… part of summer.

The food… oh the fabulous food. Every bite to be savored. Taste bud heaven.

The stormy spray of sea mist. The wind blowing through my hair. Giggles as we try to get at least one pic we both can live with.

Comments
  1. Nikki B says:

    Great post Ivy! You conveyed so much with so little words and great images! Looks amazing… wish I could’ve come! Ha!

  2. chesshirecat says:

    I’m with Ivy. You did well with the narration and the photos! Had a feeling of real fun as I scrolled through!

  3. Susi says:

    Miss you!!!!! Come back…the sun is shining again :-)))

  4. This was *such* an amazing way to convey your holiday experience….it nearly made me a little misty-eyed. I could almost smell the forest and taste that delicious-looking seafood spread….beautiful job. Loved seeing you with your siblings, too~ looks like you had so much fun!

    So glad to hear you had a fabulous time! (Though I’m glad to see you’re back at the blogging business! Missed you, girl!)

  5. Ivy Blaise says:

    Hehe yep it was a fabulous holiday. Yep, I am back again. Have a few post ideas that I will try to get through. ❤

  6. There’s nothing like going home, back to the family. Awesome pics. Another destination to add to my list of places to be explored. Though, glad to see you back online. 🙂 Lovely post !!

  7. Bob says:

    Incredible pictures and a great story of homecoming too. Your forests are so much different than ours. Same types of trees but more wild here.

    Thanks for the lovely look into your holiday.

    • Ivy says:

      We do have the wild forests as well but they are more up north in the country. Where my brother lives the landowners are heavely involved in forestry and also a massive storm destroyed much of density of the forests a few years back.

  8. Beautiful! Reminded me of the smell of fresh cut grass and the forrest after a rain. A nice mental vacation after a stressful week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

