Taking pictures in the rain

Posted: October 1, 2011 in Life, Photography, Reflections
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Autumn has most definitely arrived in Dublin. The rain has not stopped since yesterday afternoon and the trees are still showing off their leaves. The world is looking colourful. It is beautiful.

Now those who know me, will know that rain is not one of my favorite things in the world. Normally I spend rainy days under a blanket, planted on my sofa with a good book and cup of tea. However today I decided to go outside and take a few pictures before the next autumn storm will scatter all the leaves and just leave us with bare branches for the next few months.

I readily admit that I do not know a thing about photography. If you start talking to me about ISO, white noise and shutter speed settings you will just receive a blank stare from me (you might get that on other occasions as well but lets not go into that…). Which also means that half the settings on my camera are a mystery to me.

You see, the thing is… I spent an afternoon a while back looking at old pictures. I used to only take pictures of people – different gatherings and parties and so forth (if I remembered to bring the camera in the first place). I still love those pictures because they bring back fun memories. However I realized that I hardly ever take pictures of what is around me. It is easy to take all that for granted.

Another thing I have realized lately is that there is beauty to be found everywhere. If you only open your eyes and look. There is enough ugliness in the world as it is – let us not spend our days trying to find more to add to the pile unnecessarily.

So out I went with my umbrella in one hand and my camera in the other – getting strange looks from people hurrying past me as the rain kept lashing down. I can honestly say, I had a great time.

Now… I think I will find that blanket, grab a book and a cup of tea and relax on my sofa.

 

Comments
  1. Nice photos! I especially like the first shot. It keeps me looking and wondering. I love the juxtaposition between the lines and the curves of the rain. Very nice. Thanks for posting!

  2. Bob says:

    I take all my pics now with an automatic iso setting, I find it brings the colors out more.

    Love your rain shots, we may have to collaborate one day girl!

  3. While you may be a photography novice, you certainly have a good eye for detail, though! Lovely shots! They make *me* want to curl up with some tea and a blanket, too!

  4. Ivy Blaise says:

    @ Christy – sounds fabulous!!! Enjoy! x

  5. Nikki B says:

    Someone once told me that anyone can take good pictures of beautiful things, but it is the photographer that can take beautiful pictures of ordinary things.

  6. I usually only do pics of people as well, but I love the first one with the water dripping!

Leave a Reply

