Deck of cards

Posted: October 8, 2011 in Life
Tags: , , , , , ,

A hand is dealt.

I can choose to accept that these are the cards I have to play with. I can choose to accept that I will play the best I can with what I have been dealt. Perhaps I throw one and pick up a new card. I have to make decisions on what to sacrifice and what to gamble. I might bluff, I might raise the stakes. Sometimes I will win, sometimes I will lose.

I can choose not to play by the rules. I can toss the cards on the table. I can grab the deck and throw the cards up in the air. Watching how they float through the air. Watch how they rain down and see which way they land. Leaving it to coincident. Letting me be surprised by the outcome. Dealing with whatever is thrown at me, good or bad.

Or I can stand up and walk away from the table. Leaving the cards laying down. No peeking. No game play. Without any cards to decide what I can do, should do or will do. The decisions will lay with me. Every gamble my own. No predictions, no tricks. It can go wrong, it can go right.

Wanna play?

Comments
  1. Susi says:

    Play the cards for a hint…but make a choice with your heart!!! ❤

  2. Ivy Blaise says:

    Gut feeling, heart, instinct…we do listen way too little to it. Most times it is what points us in the right direction – the tricky bit is to know when to overrule the head… or the cards. ❤

  3. “You got to know when to hold ’em…..know when to fold ’em….know when to walk away….know when to run…..”

    So you probably were *not* trying to invoke thoughts of Kenny Rogers here, but I think on a certain level, you both may be saying the same thing??! Winning, losing, chance, luck, intuition….the game of cards is a pretty good metaphor for Life.

    Hope you’re having a lovely weekend ~

  4. Ivy Blaise says:

    Ha! I did not even know Kenny Rogers had those lyrics – don’t really listen to his stuff. Still… sounds like it is similar to what I was thinking.

    Hope you are having a great weekend as well! x

  5. Nikki B says:

    … let’s play.

  6. Playing cards is like a gamble with what is at hand. No going back, and no re-deals !! Sounds like life, but hey that’s what we are here for. To start the game and play the deck. Deal the cards and let the game roll !! 🙂

Leave a Reply

