Candles lit

Posted: November 26, 2011 in Life
Tags: , , , , ,

Tomorrow is the 1st of Advent. Traditionally in Sweden this means that all the Christmas decorations come out of the storage units and in every window you can find lit stars or candelabras. The dark is no longer depressing, it is now cosy and warm. The only thing that is not put up yet is the Christmas tree, that will have to wait a few more weeks.  Christmas music is played and the smell of mulled wine, home-baked ginger cookies and oranges is everywhere.

I have cleaned the whole apartment today and put up what Christmas decoration I have. This also meant that my cat decided that he found the stars hanging in the windows offending and tried to attack them… major fail as he could not reach them! I was prepared…

Now the sun is soon setting and the stars will be lit as well as the candles that are dotted around my living room. Bring on the coziness!

Hope you all will have a lovely 1st of Advent!

p.s there is a new post up on Living3703: 5 Things I Like About Dublin

Comments
  1. Carrie says:

    I just put up my tree on Thursday night. That was the earliest I have EVER put it up. And I’m so glad I did…I love it.

    Plus, for me…its a little sign of healing.

    I’ve been divorced for almost 8 years now, and well…those first 4-5 years alone I didn’t even put one up.

    At all.

    Then when I did start putting one up, it’d only be a week or so before Christmas.

    Now…I think I’m back to being full-on Christmas. Which tells me I’m back to being full-on me.

    =)

  2. Ivy Blaise says:

    Sounds brilliant that you are back to full-on you! This will be my first Christmas as single in… 11 years. But I will spend it with a great friend and enjoy every minute of it. 🙂

  3. Anna & I coincidentally baked ginger cookies yesterday, without even realizing that today (Sunday) is the 1st of Advent. I clearly would make a better Swede than American, as I am not remotely on top of anything else having to do with Christmas right now!

Leave a Reply

