… putting pen to Christmas card

Posted: December 4, 2011 in Life, Rant
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The second advent candle is lit aaaand here we go again… It is once again time to write those frustrating, easy-to-forget, I-have-no-idea-what-to-write, wonderful Christmas cards. Every year it is the same story when it comes to writing and sending Christmas cards, as you might remember from last years post. There are some cards that kind off have to be written (let’s face it, my parents do not really get the whole e-card thing) and so I sit here once again trying to come up with something clever, joyful and most of all unique to put into the cards and as usual I have Christmas card writer’s block. Sigh…

On a positive note I have actually remembered to buy cards this year. I have not waited until I receive the first card in the post and then run like a manic, possessed woman into the nearest card shop to grab the first pack of cards… and not realizing until I get home that I bought a pack boldly stating “For Santa’s Naughty Boy” with a picture less than suitable to send to my parents. Ugh… yeah.

On my second cup of coffee now and… oh crap(!!)… I just realized I forgot to get stamps! Wonder if I could sneak these cards into the work mail…. hmm maybe not.

Well posting cards is needless unless I actually come up with something to write in them. Think I might brew another few cups of coffee – have I ever mentioned that one of the best buys I have ever made is my Gaggia espresso machine? I could probably write paragraphs about that but let’s not digress.

OK, time to stop ranting nonsense here and actually put pen to paper (or pen to card, if you are going to be picky about it).

Comments
  1. Mihaela says:

    just keep it simple, the message on the card, seems more honest and coming from the heart than something long and elaborate.. at least that’s what I do 🙂

  2. Carrie says:

    You’re good.

    People would freak if they saw I actually took the time to send a card.

  3. Bob says:

    I personally hate those damn things, never sent one in my life and never really plan to. But then again I am a man and no one really wants to hear me whine and moan anyways.

    Good Luck Ivy!!

  4. […] Loath: Writing Christmas cards! Every year it is the same story. I stare at those cards (if I remember to buy them) and am trying to find inspiration as to what to write. This is a subject I have ranted on before, here and here. […]

  5. Nikki B says:

    I remember one of the stories in a big Christmas book I had growing up was how a kid made all these cards for his family, all special and handmade, and no one got them! He couldn’t figure it out… until the last line…

    “Oh no! Did I forget the stamps??”

    Don’t forget to put the stamps ON the cards. Just some advice.

Leave a Reply

