Into the sandstorm… kinda

Posted: May 13, 2012 in Blogging, Life
Tags: , , , , ,

Went for a longer walk today with some friends. In gale storm winds with the sand clinging to everything. Yeah, walking along the beach in strong wind might not be the best idea unless you want to chew sand for a good few hours but it was worth it. Lots of kite surfers and wind surfers out at the beach taking advantage of a windy day with no freezing rain.

I needed to get out a bit. There was no training at the club yesterday so instead I cleaned the entire apartment, for hours. Even cleaning the windows!! Which, if you know me, is a very rare occurrence. My cats have a clear view out again and the neighbors in, I guess… whatever perspective you prefer. So getting out and stretching my legs was sorely needed. As tired as I have been lately I did seem to have a weird surge of energy, I could have kept walking for many more hours. It was just so nice.

When I was younger I actually loathed “going for a walk”… I always thought it was boring and not fast enough and what was the point… yeah, funny how things change. Now I actually cherish to go for a long walk. It clears my head (and works my legs and bum – always a bonus). Walking with friends is great. You get to share some beautiful scenery, get out and about and can have a chat or just companionable silence and then finish of with a cold beer, glass of wine or good aul latte. There is no better therapy for a tired and fed-up mind.

That is really how things have been a bit… tired and fed-up, hence the non-existent blogging. So it seems the walking did the trick. Now I just have to pray, dance, sing to the weather gods that they send some decent weather to Ireland for a while (though my singing might have the opposite effect so might leave that out) so that we can have plenty more days walking. Preferably without walking into a sandstorm.

Monday is nipping at the heels once again. So I will enjoy the last Sunday hours, hope you all have a good one.

Comments
  1. Ah, looks lovely….though from behind my little screen here, I am not left spitting sand. ; )

    Sounds like the perfect way to spend a Sunday. Here’s hoping it’s a good start to a lovely week. Cheers, friend!

  2. Ivy Blaise says:

    Fingers crossed eh! 🙂 Hope you’ll have a good one as well! x

  3. You can always come visit us for some sunshine. There’s more here than we can handle!

  4. Nikki B says:

    Happy Monday! Hope things are feeling better after your weekend.. great pics!

  5. Bob says:

    I love strolling in nature, we have some brilliant parks here that I often use to clear my head and organize my thoughts.

    • Ivy Blaise says:

      It does work somehow doesn’t it. Must be all that fresh air… ugh don’t you just hate it when your parents get it right. 🙂

      • Bob says:

        Yea that is kind of a hard kick in the teeth to take. But as a parent I get to dish it out now. 🙂

  6. Do you suppose having a mouth full of sand is kind of what it feels like to have a scratchy tongue like a cat?

Leave a Reply

